SECTION IV. 5. Companion Services

A. Definition

"Companion Services" include supervision and socialization to individuals, who are unable to care for themselves. This specific Companion Service applies to people living in the home-based setting and is reimbursed at an hourly rate.

Note: Companion services in an Adult Family Care home setting is covered under the Adult Family Care service standards (Section IV.11).

B. Companion Standards

Companion Services providers who manage and supervise companion employees must be authorized to provide Choices for Care (CFC) services by the Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living (DAIL) and comply with the following:

- 1. All Applicable State and/or Federal Rules and Regulations
- 2. <u>Participant and Surrogate-Directed Employer Responsibilities</u> (Participant/Surrogate Employers only) as outlined in the <u>Employer Handbook</u>.
- 3. CFC <u>Universal Provider Qualifications and Standards</u> (Section III.)
- 4. CFC Services Principles (Section IV. B.)

C. Provider Types

The following provider types are approved to provide Companion Services when authorized by DAIL and identified on the individuals Service Plan:

- 1. Home Health Agencies (as defined by State statute) (Revenue Code 073)
- 2. Employees of Certified Participant or Surrogate Directed Employers via an Intermediary Services Organization (*Revenue Code 075 and 080*)
- 3. Vermont Senior Companion Program

D. Approved Activities

- 1. Limited Personal Care or Household Tasks
- 2. Supervision
- 3. Socialization

E. Limitations

- 1. Companion Services as defined in this section are limited to individuals approved by DAIL for services in the Home-Based setting.
- 2. Companion Services are limited to a maximum of <u>720 hours per calendar year</u> in combination with Respite Care Services.
- 3. Assistance with Activities of Daily Living (ADL) and Instrumental Activities of Daily Living (IADL) shall be limited by the skills and abilities of employees providing companion services, as determined by the provider.
- 4. Companion workers with a substantiated record of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a child or a vulnerable adult shall not be paid to provide CFC services (*DAIL Background Check Policy*).
- 5. Companion workers who have been excluded from participation in Medicaid or Medicare services, programs, or facilities by the federal Department of Health and Human Services' Office of the Inspector General shall not be paid to provide CFC services (*DAIL Background Check Policy*).
- 6. Companion workers who have a criminal conviction for an offense involving bodily injury, abuse of a vulnerable person, a felony drug offense, or a property/money crime involving violation of a position of trust shall not be paid to provide CFC services (*DAIL Background Check Policy*).
- 7. A spouse or a civil union partner shall not be paid to provide companion care services.
- 8. A legal guardian, appointed by probate court, shall not be paid to provide companion care services.
- 9. Companion Services shall not be provided to a participant while out of the state of Vermont for more than 7 consecutive days.
- 10. Participant or Surrogate-Directed employees must be 18 years of age or older.
- 11. A surrogate employer shall not be paid to provide Companion Services.
- 12. CFC shall not be used to provide Companion Services that are otherwise being purchased privately or paid for through another funding source.
- 13. CFC services shall not contribute to the cost of the participant's room and board in a shared living arrangement (except in a nursing facility).
- 14. An unlicensed private home shall not provide or be paid to arrange for, care to more than two unrelated people in their home, regardless of the source of payment. (*Refer*

to the <u>Residential Care Home Licensing Regulations</u> for details http://www.dlp.vermont.gov/regs.)

15. A companion care employee shall not require the participant to pay privately for services already available through the CFC program.